Kids Battle Helmet Craft


For appx. 15 or more years, I’ve been the “Craft Coordinator” for our church’s children’s summer camp program.  Every year the director asks me if I will once again take on this job.  And every year I tell her that if God gives me a craft idea then yes.  So once again this year I’m the Craft Coordinator.  The kids are 3rd to 5th grade.  The idea for the craft this year has evolved quite nicely.  The pictures below are the two crafts I will present as choices for the kids to choose from.  I like crafts that are very hands on and this one is a gooey one; great for kids.   Right away  when little Jacob saw the helmet his words were: “Cool!”.  I asked if he would try on the sample for me and that’s all it took.  He loved it.  I hated to take it back.  I promised after camp he could have it for his own.  He was so sweet and handed it back to me.  After I left I thought I likely will make another and give this one to little Jacob.

Take a look at my tablecloths for sale on Artfire at: http://www.artfire.com/ext/shop/studio/Uniquelyhandmade and on Etsy at:http://www.etsy.com/shop/UniquelyHandmadeOnly

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kelsey
    Jun 25, 2012 @ 22:40:04

    So…how do you make it?

    Reply

    • uniquelyhandmadeonly
      Jun 25, 2012 @ 22:54:31

      This is a paper mache craft. Start by measuring the childs head circumference. Blow up a balloon 9″ or larger. The pear shape balloon works best for this application. Measure the blown up balloon to be sure it corresponds to the child’s head size; a couple inches larger is best. Cut strips of cardboard from coke can boxes and tape together to form the lower part of the helmet. Slide the piece up onto the balloon. Cover with paper mache. Make “rivets” or “spikes” and attach to top. Rivets can be made by wadding up some newspaper and fastened to the helmet with another piece of newspaper. Spikes can be made from the soda can cardboard by cutting out a half circle and folding it into the shape of a cone. Some trimming may be necessary to make it fit on properly. Fasten it together by using a strip of newspaper soaked in paper mache. Fasten to the helmet in like manner as the rivets. Cut another strip from the soda can cardboard to make the band across the top. Cover with your outside layer of construction paper or whatever choice of final layer you choose before attaching to the helmet. Let the cover over the strap go beyond each of the ends of the strap to use to secure the strap to the helmet. Use additional final layer material to “tape” over the ends of the strap to better secure it in place. Let the thing dry and cut out eye holes or even a nose hole. I looked online at battle helmets for my ideas for my designs.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

